Latest News Editor's Choice

News / International

Zim Achievers USA a resounding success - Lovemore Majaivana gets 'Special Recognition Award'

by Tidi Kwidini
22 Nov 2016 at 01:24hrs | Views
The first USA edition of the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (ZAA) got off to a remarkable start last Saturday, as Zimbabweans living in different parts of the 50 state country turned out in their numbers for the swanky red carpet affair held at the prestigious Westin Stonebriar Hotel and Golf Club in Frisco, Texas.

All glammed up, the movers and shakers of the Zim community did not disappoint as they celebrated the nominees and winners of the first edition.

The entertainment line-up proved to be the cherry on top of a beautiful evening, with Mukoko Queen and headline act Ammara Brown dazzling the guests with her sultry voice.

Ammara Brown

The guests were also treated to the sounds of former Voice USA contestant, Brian Nhira, whose star-studded performance left the crowd wanting more.

ZAA Organisers Brian and Ontrance Mureverwi

This year's awards were proudly sponsored by WorldRemit,Steward bank, EcoCash, Propane Energy Gas, Property 101, SD Simunyu & Son Logistics, AmeriSystems, Jules Travel and Tour, Clearview, Yangu Beauty, Euphoria Event Planning & Event Management, Zim Tuckshop and

Ontrance Mureverwi, ZAA USA's planning director extended her thanks to all the sponsors for their support.

"The event would not have been possible without the support of all our sponsors who listened to our vision and helped us see it through," Mureverwi said.

"The first chapter of anything always comes with a level of apprehension because you do not know what to expect; but when you have a good team and a host of partners supporting you through it, it makes it just that bit easier and, we are elated that the inaugural event exceeded our expectations," she added.

Looking to the future
Natalie Jabangwe, CEO and GM of EcoCash, which was also the Headline sponsor alongside WorldRemit said, that she and her team appreciated the awards and admired the work that they have been doing.

Keynote speaker and EcoCash CEO - Natalie Jabangwe.

"We have been sponsoring the ZAA's as an Econet group for the past three years, and we are confident in the work that Conrad Mwanza and his team have been doing," she said.

"These awards have been running for the past six years in the UK, and four years in South Africa. Now with the US in its first year, we are looking forward to the launch of Australia in the not so distant future," she added.

Jabangwe, who was the keynote speaker at the inaugural event said, that ZAA was a platform through which they could connect with those in the diaspora and hear about the solutions and innovations that they may have.

"Having a position at home (Zimbabwe), we would like to be able to work with you to see what we can do together.

If we start small, we can make that difference, not only for ourselves but for the future of our country," Jabangwe added.

She also congratulated all the nominees and winners and praised the event organisers for a job well done.
Founded in 2010, the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards is the brainchild of Chairman Conrad Mwanza. The brand has grown over the years and now has a huge following and presence in the UK, South Africa and the USA, and plans to extend it to Australia are currently underway.

The South African edition of the Awards will be held on the 10th of December 2016 at the Maslow Hotel in Sandton, to vote and purchase tickets please visit

Here is the full list of winners from the night:

Outstanding Achievement: Music
Brian Nhira

Outstanding Achievement: Entertainment
Kwapi Vengesayi

Personality of the Year
Miriam Shumba

Female Entrepreneur of the Year
Elizabeth Buard

Male Entrepreneur of the Year
Anesu Manjengwa

People's Choice Award
Leonard Manhanga

Young Achievers Award
Hatinawedu Mupiwa

Community Champion of the Year

Dr. Mollin Madziva

Community Organisation of the Year
Girls Set Apart Ministries

Sports Personality of the Year
Stansly Maponga

Business of the Year
S. D. Simunyu & Son Logistics Inc.

Friend of Zimbabwe
Sam Kumbatira

Academic Achievement of the Year
Dr. Emmanuel Magara

Lifetime Outstanding Achievement

Dr. Solomon Masenda

Professional of the Year
Fungai Shonhiwa

Chairman's Honorary Award 2016
Dr. Judith Zuvarashe Mushipe

Special Recognition Awards

Lovemore "Majaivana" Tshuma
Tinashe Kachingwe
Dr. Thomas Mapfumo
Danai Gurira

Source - Tidi Kwidini

Get latest news by email: